A Brief History on the IPL

A Brief History on the IPL

Indian Premier League (IPL), is a professional T20 cricket league that was established in 2008. IPL playing format is based on ICC World Twenty20 which started in 2007. This new style of game is an enhancement of the One Day International format designed to make the game fast, engaging, and entertaining.

Cricket has always been like a religion to the subcontinent region and especially to India. After the Indian team won the International T20 World Cup back in 2007 and the popularity of the T20 format of cricket in India skyrocketed. Many people saw this rise in popularity as a very good opportunity to create something amazing out of this. The Vice President of the Board of Cricket Control in India (BCCI) Lalit Modi envisioned the Indian Premier League similar to the lines of football clubs in Europe. 

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is now the most profitable and popular league for the game of cricket internationally. Matches are usually played under floodlights at night so that they can be broadcast internationally. IPL is based on a round-robin group and knockout format, with the planned expansion to 10 teams which are divided into two groups. The top four qualifying teams play three playoffs which one team must win two games to win the series, with one losing team being given a second chance to play for the final. There is no doubt where this brainchild of the BCCI is headed, as far as where viewership and profits are concerned.

The eight founding franchises of IPL include Mumbai Indians (based in Mumbai and Maharashtra), the Chennai Super Kings (based in Chennai and Tamil Nadu), the Royal Challengers Bangalore (based in Bengaluru and Karnataka), the Deccan Chargers (based in Hyderabad), the Delhi Daredevils (based in New Delhi), the Punjab Kings (based in Punjab and Mohali), the Kolkata Knight Riders (based in Kolkata and West Bengal), and the Rajasthan Royals (based in Jaipur and Rajasthan). In 2013 the Deccan Chargers were replaced by Sunrisers Hyderabad. Two new franchises, Ahmedabad and Lucknow, will join the IPL for the 2022 tournament.

The highlight of all IPL seasons

2008 season 1: The first season with star-studded names like MS Dhoni and Shane Warne drew the world’s attention transforming IPL far from your conventional cricket league. Rajasthan Royals became the first champion of the IPL history.

2009 season 2: The Deccan Chargers, the underperforming team from the earlier season won the tournament. Due to security reasons, the matches were hosted by South Africa.

2010 season 3: Amidst the political turmoil between a Congress MP and Vice President of BCCI Lalit Modi over rigging. The series continued on with Chennai Super Kings winning their first trophy. 

2011 season 4: Indian Premier League went into its fourth season with two new franchises, the Pune Warriors India and the Kochi Tuskers Kerala. This season spread over 53 days and saw as many as 74 matches being played. Chennai Super Kings won their consecutive second trophy.

2012 season 5: Kochi Tuskers Kerala was terminated this season due to a breach in BCCI terms of conditions. But on the brighter side, Kolkata Knight Riders won their first title.

2013 season 6: This season, Deccan Chargers was replaced by Sunrisers Hyderabad. Plus, controversy over the spot-fixing scandal rocked the Indian Premier League. However, the series continued, and Mumbai Indians won their first trophy.

2014 season 7: The Indian Premier League after Pune Warriors India pulled out was back to the eight founding franchises it started from. Gautam Gambhir’s phenomenal performance led the Kolkata Knight Riders to their second IPL title.

2015 season 8: This season of the Indian Premier League was hosted in India after a long time, with Mumbai Indians winning their second title.

2016 season 9: Due to the charges of spot-fixing on Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals, they were suspended from the Indian Premier League. This gave chance for other teams to shine and Sunrisers Hyderabad took the opportunity to win their first trophy.

2017 season 10: In the thrilling finale, Rohit Sharma led the Mumbai Indians to become the first team in IPL history to win a third title.

2018 season 11: Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals were back in action after their two-year suspension. This season Chennai Super Kings won their third trophy.

2019 season 12: Indian Premiers League’s two biggest teams Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings clashed in the finale. Making Mumbai Indians the record fourth time champions.

2020 season 13: The luck was with the Mumbai Indians again this season as they won the second consecutive title and overall the fifth time.

2021 season 14: This year Chennai Super Kings was shining with defeating Koltaka Knight Riders with 27 runs and winning the fourth title.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s